Our designers: POL

Week by week,

we’d like to introduce our designers. We wish you would enjoy their talent, and the unique personality of each one of them.

We want to start with Paula de Andrés, whose designs made us to fall in love at first sight. After studying for fashion designer at the IED Madrid, she created POL, one of the brands we’re proudest to collaborate with. Watching Paula at work is really inspiring, because her know-how at just 24 years old, reminds us the beginning of some great creators. She has intuiton, real talent and the master formula to succeed with her desings: a traditional working method combined with new materials and breaking patterns.

We’ve interviewed her to know more about her world:

***

Semana a semana os iremos descubriendo a nuestros diseñadores. Esperamos que disfrutéis con su talento y la personalidad única de cada uno de ellos.

Empezamos con Paula de Andrés, que nos enamoró con sus diseños desde el primer vistazo.Después de formarse como diseñadora de moda en el IED de Madrid creó POL, una de las marcas con las que estamos más orgullosos de colaborar. Ver trabajar a Paula es realmente inspirador, porque su saber hacer con tan sólo 24 años, nos hace recordar los inicios algunos grandes creadores. Tiene intuición, verdadero talento y la fórmula maestra para triunfar con sus diseños: un método tradicional de trabajo combinado con nuevos materiales y estampados rompedores.

La hemos entrevistado para saber un poco más de ella: 

*****************************

Les Tisseurs: What does inspire you when creating fashion? / Qué te inspira a la hora de crear las prendas?

Pol: I’m always trying to find an aesthetic inspiration to guide all the proccess and to make different every collection, but I think that what influence me the most are silhouettes and patterns that attract my attention and mean a challenge for me. The meticulous pattern work is the base of all my collections.

Siempre intento buscar una inspiración estética que guíe un poco el proceso y que haga que cada colección sea diferente. Pero creo que sobretodo me influyen las siluetas y los patrones que me llaman la atención en ese momento o que me suponen un reto. El trabajo minucioso del patronaje es la base de todas mis colecciones.

Leggings designed by POL, available now at http://www.lestisseurs.com

LT: Explain your creative proccess: from finding that inspiration to the moment when the product  reach the customers. / Cuéntanos cómo es tu proceso creativo: desde que consigues esa inspiración, hasta que el producto llega al cliente.

P: Normally I use to have and aesthetic idea that I’d like to approach to, before starting to design… I’ve got some folders on the computer with pictures that I find interesting. Arrived that point, my mind starts to think about all those things I like, and I always start to draw some little illustrations everywhere, from where I’ll take the definitive collection. When I’ve got all the drawings ready, I put them on the table, and leave them there for days, tidied up according to the different blocks which compose the collection, and I can’t stop of changing things till I feel the collection is complete, I’m really demanding in this last part. Then I choose the definitive fabrics for each model, well, I use to know clearly the materials at this moment (ften I know them even before start drawing). Finally, the patterns, the tests and sewing and sewing till I turn the collection into something physical.

Normalmente suelo tener una idea de la estética a la que me quiero acercar, mucho tiempo antes de empezar a diseñar… siempre tengo carpetas en el ordenador con imágenes que me llaman la atención o me parecen interesantes. A partir de ahí mi cabeza no para de darle vueltas a todo y siempre empiezo con unos cuantos figurines diminutos que hago en todas partes, de los que luego sacaré la colección definitiva. Cuando tengo los dibujos listos, los suelo tener bastantes días en una mesa ordenados en los distintos bloques que componen la colección y la verdad es que no paro de cambiar cosas hasta que la colección me parece completa, soy muy exigente en esta última parte. Después elijo los tejidos definitivos para cada prenda, aunque suelo tenerlos ya muy claros en este momento(incluso antes de empezar a dibujar). Por último, empezar a patronar, probar, coser y coser y convertir la colección en algo físico

LT: Which is your favorite part of this proccess? / Cuál es la parte que más te gusta de ese proceso?

P: I love when I see all the collection set on the table, ready to become real, and the only thing I do is changing some details to give   the clothes all the coherence and the unite they must have. The day I “allow miself” to start patterning, I’m really happy.

Me encanta cuando veo la colección terminada sobre la mesa lista para ser una realidad y lo único que voy cambiando son detalles de las piezas que no tienen toda la coherencia y la unidad que deberían. El día que me “doy permiso” para empezar a patronar, soy feliz.
LT: What kind of women is your brand addressed to? / A qué tipo de mujer va dirigida tu marca?

P: I’m aware that you must be cheeky to wear some of my clothes, so I believe that wearing my brand is not limited by the age, but a filter of identification with all the proccess and the concept. They’re really timeless clothes. Anyway, I think that in a collection I make clothes for too many kinds of customers, and I believe that too many people could identify with some of them.

Soy consciente de que para llevar muchas de mis prendas hay que ser atrevida, por eso creo que llevar mi marca no esta limitado por un filtro de edad, si no de identificación con todo el proceso y el concepto. Son piezas bastante atemporales. De todas maneras creo a la lo largo de una colección hago prendas para muchos tipos de clientas, y creo que mucha gente podría sentirse identificada con alguna de ellas.


LT: What do you think is the best advantage of being an independente brand? / ¿Cuál crees que es la mayor ventaja de ser una firma independiente?

P: It’s beautiful because you do litteraly what you want. You may not be limited by the market; you’re there with your creations, and if someone want to contact you, will have a lot of ways to do it. Every client is a joy, and quite often the relation turns into personal.

Lo bonito de esto es que haces literalmente lo que te da la gana. Se supone que no estás limitado por el mercado; ahí estás tú con tus creaciones y quien quiera tiene todo tipo de medios para contactar contigo. Cada cliente es una alegría y una relación que casi siempre se convierte en personal.
LT: So what’s the most complicated? / Y qué es lo más complicado?

P: The complicated point is that, when you do just what you want, you’re sometimes missunderstood, and even if I said before that you’re not limited by the market, this is a double edge weapon, because the market is the one that will bring you customers. Ypu must learn to find your customers and take care of them.

Lo complicado es que cuando haces lo que te da la gana no todo el mundo te entiende y aunque antes he dicho que no estás limitado por el mercado, esto se convierte en un arma de doble filo, ya que el mercado es el que te dará clientes. Tienes que aprender a encontrar a tus clientes y cuidarles.


LT: What’s your opinion about the crazy rhythm of fashion nowadays? Qué opinas del ritmo frenético de la moda actual?

P: When you’re starting and doing everything alone, and you follow a careful and handmade proccess, this rhythm destroys you. Anyway, I think that everyone must find its place in the current schedule. As I said before, my clothes are timeless so I work in a most close and personal way. I can’t make great productions, but I can assist the customers that come to me the day after the lauch of the collection.

Cuando estás empezando y lo haces tú todo, y encima es un proceso cuidado y artesanal, este ritmo te destroza. Sin embargo creo que dentro del calendario de hoy en día, cada uno tiene que encontrar su sitio. Como he dicho creo que mis prendas son bastante atemporales, además trabajo de una manera bastante personal y cercana.  No soy capaz de hacer grandes producciones, pero sí de atender a los clientes que acuden a mí el día después del lanzamiento de la colección.

— TO BE CONTINUED —

LES TISSEURS

One thought on “Our designers: POL

  1. Amazing! This blog looks exactly like my old one! It’s on
    a entirely different subject but it has pretty much the same page layout and design.

    Excellent choice of colors!

Leave a comment